About Us

The Southwest Deanery is one of four deaneries of the Diocese of the Rio Grande. It includes parishes and missions in the southwest region of New Mexico as well as El Paso, Texas. The mission of the Southwest Deanery is to facilitate the implementation of the mission and goals of the Episcopal Diocese of the Rio Grande through support of and communication with the individual faith communities within the Deanery.

The Very Reverend Deacon Laurie Benavides was installed as Dean of the Southwest Deanery at the Diocesan Convention Eucharist on Nov. 1, 2018. The Southwest Deanery Board includes Mr. Derrick Washington, Vice Dean; Mr. Sal Saldivar, Treasurer; Catherine Lemons, Secretary; Mr. Bill Cox; Poverty and Outreach Board Representative, and the Reverend Wally LaLonde; Youth Representative; and Dean Benavides, Chair. For more information on all of the members of our board, and for contact information for each individual member, please visit our “Board and Staff” page by clicking here.